The BioScope ResolveTM Atomic Force Microscope: From Correlated, High-Resolution Imaging of Single Biomolecules to Investigating Cell Mechanics
Wednesday, June 17, 2015

USA 8:00 a.m. PDT / 11:00 a.m. EDT / 15:00 GMT

with Guest Speaker: Dr. Hermann Schillers, University of Münster, Germany
The BioScope ResolveTM is Bruker’s latest advancement in atomic force microscopy (AFM) for biological research. Specifically designed to be integrated and synchronized with optical microscopy, including fluorescence, confocal microscopy, and super-resolution imaging, we will describe how the BioScope Resolve is providing new methods of studying cell mechanical properties and investigating the mechanisms involved in mechanotransduction. The high-resolution, three-dimensional imaging capabilities of the BioScope Resolve is also enabling routine visualization of a wide range of biomolecules, from the major and minor grooves of the DNA double helix to monolayers of living cells, under near-physiological conditions. In fact, we will present the first images of the very soft and flexible microvilli obtained on the membrane surface of living cells by AFM and discuss the observed force-dependency of these structures.

* *
 
*
*
State*
Country*
*